Engerland, Engerland, Engerland…….

In a stunning display of Pride, Passion and Belief, I believe I drank several pints of pride in a passionate frenzy in a pub in Chiswick before, during and, indeed, after the England Parguay Fifa World Cup 2006 Qualifying Group B match up.

The question on everyone's lips was had Paraguay not scored the first goal for us, would we have managed to score at all. I nearly scored in the beer garden, but, unfortunately, I started talking and my paper bag fell off. The lady in question was Polish and, in a fit of pique which can only have been caused by her reading my previous post, she told me to go home.

Back to the question. Would England have scored if Paraguay hadn't? You might think this is a hypothetical question, but you're wrong. I've commissioned an analysis of all available data and have discovered that in 67% of matches where England scored a goal early on, they would have got another if they hadn't got a goal early on. So, there's a roughly 2/3 chance that we'd have scored yesterday if we hadn't. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Engerland, Engerland, Engerland…….

  1. Tim says:

    My Dad used to tell me a story when I was a lad that once England, some time in the 60s I think, actually won the World Cup.
    Someone called Jeff Burst scored a hat trick (never knew what that meant) and a Russian didn’t go over the line, but Germany said it did, or something like that.
    His stories always had happy endings so England won the game 4-2.

    Sadly, I have since found out that none of this is true.

  2. matty says:

    Tim. Thanks for that. That’s what’s needed here. More erudite comments.
    Commenting on blogs is the new Prague.

Leave a Reply

